Travel: Cameron Highlands, Malaysia

To lighten the work load (so to speak) I’ll sneak in pictures and short stories about my travels. The pictures aren’t the best in quality but bare with me. First I’ll take you to Malaysia.

In the summer of 2007 I traveled on a comfortable bus from Kuala Lumpur to Cameron Highlands. The views were breathtakingly green, and somehow layered with hills running up and down all around you. Parts of that green was tea. I visited a tea plantation, got to walk between tea pushes, and learned how tea was made. I experienced my first afternoon tea not in England but in Malaysia. It must have also been the first time I ate a scone accompanied of course with cream and jam. Back then I wasn’t a tea drinker, and I never imagined I would become one when backpacking in a hot and humid environment. As I’m writing this I have ginger tea next to me waiting.

Cameron Highlands

Leave a Reply

