Interviewing Matias

Traveling became a big part of my life due to my parents and especially my dad. His job took him all around the world and he has experienced the most amazing things and places. Through his job our family has many friends who live or have lived abroad. I met Canadian Finnish Matias in the USA for the first time. He now lives and works in Finland.

What is your job title?

3D Artist

Where do you work?

Tampere, Finland, Kyy Games.

How did you get into the line of work?

I have always had a passion for art. It has evolved with technology, and I came to realize that being a part of making games is what I want to do.

Did you feel lucky landing your job?

I was fortune to have friends and family in Finland, and being fluent in the language helped me get the job I have today.

What qualifications are needed?

A background in traditional and digital art. I went to school for 3D Animation initially but since then my focus has changed to incorporate all types of art for games.

Are you striven by the work you do or your paycheck?

I love what I do and there’s nothing like getting paid for doing your hobby. Paycheck does matter as well, there’s nothing like being financially secure to be able to focus all your efforts on being creative at work.

Does your work match your expectations?

Yes, although I did not realize how relaxed the environment is at work.

Describe a basic day at work. Does it vary day by day?

Depends really on where you’re at in the production pipeline, roughly you start out creating 2D concepts and researching/referencing material for the project in pre-production and then later on you move to creating 3D assets for the game in a 3D program.

What is the most exciting thing about your work and why?

Having the freedom to be creative and bouncing ideas and thoughts off your co-workers makes it a very stimulating experience, to see the end product that everyone had a part of is the best.

What do you get asked about your job by friends and family?

What do you do at work.

What is the best part of your job?

Having the responsibility of creating the best possible art for the game we are creating.

Do you have bad days or moments? Why?

No not really, sometimes deadlines add stress but it is the good kind, keeps you moving forward, it just depends on your mentality really. Stay positive all the way.

Do you have any advice for people considering your line of work?

Don’t steal my job, kidding, focus on all forms of art and work on your skills constantly, stay positive and have a goal in mind and go for it.

Thank you Matias!

Matias is also working on his own game! You can check it out at Mummy Martyr.

logo

Leave a Reply

