Interviewing Wayne

While backpacking and living in hostels it is easy to make friends. For me that was one of the things I liked most next to seeing new interesting places. I’ve been lucky to maintain many of those friendships. Here is an interview with Wayne. I met him at a hostel in Melbourne, Australia. One of the first things I learned about him was that he loved to play and watch football! His job gives more evidence to that.

What is your job title? 

Football mascot

Where do you work? 

England, Peterborough, Peterborough United Football Club.

How did you get in to the line of work?

Pot luck. I used to work as a lotto ticket seller with my dad at POSH (that’s the nickname for Peterborough United) and I got asked to be the mascot, PETER BURROW, as they where looking for someone, and I guess they knew I was crazy enough!

Did you feel lucky landing your job? 

At the time yes, and now a billion per cent yes, as I get to be part of the football team I follow from the age of 6 with my dad. Plus getting to be mascot at Old Traford (Manchester united), and Wembley in front of 40000 fans I’ve also got a chance to be on TV, but the best part is doing hospital visits for the kids at Christmas.

What qualifications are needed?

Craziness!!

Are you striven by the work you do or your paycheck?

Definitely the work.

Does your work match your expectations?

You never really know what to expect. If the team does well you could end up running out in front 80000 one day, or be off to Germany for TV work or open shops, birthday parties etc.

Describe a basic day at work. Does it vary day by day? 

Saturday game I get to POSH at 12pm, check if there are any changes I need know about. At 12.30 I start to get my costume on and go outside to the ground until 13.50, mainly posing for photos and messy about with home and away fans who I like to wine up a lot. From 13.50 to 14.00 I chill and get a much needed drink but not too much as there is nothing worse than needing a wee in costume! From 14.00 to 14.45 I meet the fans in the ground, photos, signing things, making smiles. 14.45 I’m on the pitch setting away fans with my giant carrot. Some of the songs they sing about me are not very nice but it makes me laugh. The teams come out at 14.55 and the match kicks off at 15.00 and finish at 16.45. Then it’s time to take a very wet costume off…

What is the most exciting thing about your work and why?

There’s so much but just being part of the football club.

What do you get asked about your job by friends and family?

Mainly I can’t believe you got away with doing that. My mum used listen on the radio and she used to tell me they always laugh at the stuff I do. When I’m out shopping or partying people always want a photo which Kelly, my fiancée, finds funny.

What is the best part of your job?

All of it but I would say making smiles.

Do you have bad days or moments? Why?

Never nice when your team gets beat. Some days kids just want to kick and punch me and pull my tale.

Do you have any advice for people considering your line of work?

Yes! If you don’t like being hot and sweaty don’t do it!

Thanks Wayne! 

Peter Burrow

Photo from Peter Burrows Facebook profile

One comment

  1. Pernnille Oberg · October 27, 2015

    Making people smile? … I like that:)
    Nice to e-meet you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

