Interviewing Tom

Australia is one of the most memorable trips I’ve had. It was a long trip all in all so there is much that happened. I saw many places and met many people. I have friends from different contexts, depending on where I was living or what I was doing. As many travelers know staying in a hostel dorm is an easy way to meet people. I met Tom in the hostel I was staying in Melbourne. He’s from the UK and even thought I knew what he does for work the term joiner was a new one for me.

What is your job title?
Joiner.

Where do you work?
Shemara Refit Llp, Eastleigh, Southampton, England.

How did you get in to the line of work?
I was offered an apprenticeship in joinery from a family friend when I finished school.

Did you feel lucky landing your job?
Yes (current job).

What qualifications are needed?
Carpentry, joinery, or boat building

Are you striven by the work you do or your paycheck?
The work I do mainly, when extra hours are required then its the money.

Does your work match your expectations?
Yes

Describe a basic day at work. Does it vary day by day?
Yes.

What is the most exciting thing about your work and why?
Seeing the end product.

What do you get asked about your job by friends and family?
How is the project going?

What is the best part of your job?
The standard of work, also a good team.

Do you have bad days or moments? Why?
Yes, if something is challenging. Also if we don’t have the first choice of materials.

Do you have any advice for people considering your line of work?
Preserver, always look out for yourself and others around you.

Thank you Tom!

Leave a Reply

