Starting At A New Job

I talk about finding your dream job and not settling for substitutes. I hope I have provided at least a little encouragement to explore your thoughts about your current job or about your dream about that next one.

I’m sure you feel differently about your work from day to day. There will be great days, insignificant days and terrible days. You might pass through some days or weeks without realizing what has happened and then other times that you are conscious about everything all the time, good or bad.

What I have noticed is that people are scared to reach for their dreams but they are also scared to say they are happy and that they are living their dream. Seems like sometimes people think that others aren’t meant to have things better than themselves. Admitting you are happy can be frowned upon. It is such a sad world where people lack the ability to be happy for others. So lets be happy for our friends, family and even those outside of these two categories. Then we can rejoice about our own achievements and get congratulated on them too! Small achievements are worth celebrating as well, don’t forget to rejoice about them as well as the big ones.

These things are quite self evident but I find saying them out loud once in a while helpful. Like pulling them out into consciousness and reflecting on your life regarding the topic.

So, landing that job you were reaching for, the dream or the step towards it. Starting at the new job is exciting, you nailed the interview or had the right connections. However it went down, congratulations on the new job! It is always an achievement. It might not be the ultimate dream job, but it is a step towards it as long as you don’t stop striving towards your dreams. Rarely you get to the dream with one step so make sure you don’t give up and that you take care off yourself along the way!

Some of my interviewees have mentioned the importance of free time activities when your work is demanding. With perhaps a challenging work schedule or just taking a little time getting settled in with all the new that comes along the job, people might have trouble being as active as they have been before. I have seen this many times and I have a settling in period too, after starting at a new job. The experiences aren’t similar between jobs, years and people but finding that balance, having the energy to keep your free time rolling as well as staying on the top of your game at work, is major.

During Christmas I write about taking time off work and how important it is for several reasons. That time I meant taking a proper break in the form of a vacation. But living from a vacation to the next isn’t quality living, you’ll end up being too exhausted to enjoy our vacations. You should have an invigorating free time, meaning time between one work day to the next. Of course some days you might just want to chill at home after work and not lift a finger. That’s fine too. But let’s remember balance! Managing to fit exercise and social rendezvous into your work weeks, are extremely important for you well being and coping with your work load. Having a very resent experience (which is not the first) about the change between being drained after work to being able to have a puzzling free time, I can say with gusto that I absolutely like the busy version more as I have more energy at work and free time!

Weekends are great and I remember living from weekend to the next but now I’ve realized that I’m not at work five days straight but I have time off in between too. Starting to arrange stuff for myself to do before and after my work hours has given me a sense of balance. As if work is something that doesn’t take over my life. I feel this is really necessary even though I like my job and it gives me a lot of satisfaction professionally!

Life is difficult at the best of times so let’s work towards a balanced and fulfilling routine! Share ideas with friends, family members and co-workers. Take care of yourselves!
Don’t exhaust yourself on the route to your dream job 🙂

Leave a Reply

