Travel: Ljubljana, Slovenia

I have had a crazy busy couple of months at work, but I started my vacation two weeks ago now and almost the first thing I had planned was to travel to Slovenia. Couldn’t have been a better timing for some time off! Before my departure I didn’t have many expectations regarding Slovenia as I haven’t been there before this and also didn’t have too much time exploring it on the Internet other than to seek out sights I’d like to visit (I found a list on a website and agreed, didn’t need much). First amazing thing was that the flight there only took two hours and 15 minutes. So almost nothing! I flew straight from Helsinki, Finland to Ljubljana the capital of Slovenia.

I’m quite good with sleeping on the plane. Luckily I woke up a few minutes prior to landing so I got a beautiful glimpse out the window! That’s the moment I got really excited and also seemed to forget all the stress and worries I had over work. I was finally on vacation and it was time to enjoy everything!

For understanding this next part you’ll have to know that I live in the south of Finland and it is almost absolutely flat here. So when I saw mountains in the distance, I kept commenting about them with a child-like enthusiasm with all the uuu’s and the aah’s you could imagine. All this to the great amusement of my Slovenian friend. The running joke became me commenting on seeing a mountain or a church, each time one appeared. And there are plenty of each!

First stop on my trip was Ljubljana and there the first thing I got to do was have coffee. Cold brewed and I could assemble it myself. It was exactly the kind of tiny thing that got me excited. Weather at that moment permitted sitting outside and that was when a plan of where to go and what to see started to come together. Loosely.

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Cold brewed coffee and hot milk foam – was like being back in school in chemistry class, FUN!


Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

TOZD – the cafe with the DIY coffee

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

There is a string outside the window and lining that string with the line on the window you see the name of the mountain in the distance – cool idea and very informative

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Ljubljana Castle


Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Former bicycle factory ROG now hosting an autonomous culture center – some ongoing controversy about the future of the place


Ljubljana, Slovenia - essiparkkari.wordpress.com

Freely translated “for 4 selfies read at least one book”

More Slovenia posts to come! I hope you have enjoyed Ljubljana via my post.

 

 

One comment

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on… Travel | essiparkkari

Leave a Reply

